It is known that a church has stood on this site for over 600 years, although its earlier dedication is unknown. The church fell seriously into disrepair after the Reformation and it was not until 1646 that Thomas Cropley, the then owner, had the courage during the Civil War to rebuild and rededicate the church to King Charles the royal martyr. It is one of only six in the country so dedicated.
The church is best known for its famous barrel organ, being the only one in regular use. It was made in 1810 and has three wooden barrels each of which contain 12 tunes.
The pulpit adds a further unique feature as it is a triple-decker, consisting of a pulpit, reading desk and clerk's pew. The congregation's seating is in plain box pews, which date back to the 18th century.
Shelland has a single bell, dating back to 1624 and founded by T. Cheese of Bury St Edmunds.
The old altar rail has close packed balasters to prevent dogs getting inside the chancel.
There is ample car parking on the green outside the church.
Families are always welcome to all of the services, but those more suited to their needs have been specially highlighted.
Shelland is part of a benefice also comprising Great Finborough, Harleston, Buxhall and Onehouse.
Priest-in-Charge: The Revd Chris Childs 01449 736093
Assistant Priest: The Revd Arlene Cruickshanks 01449 676123
Miss Rosemary Roe 01449 736591
Mr John Jewers 01449 736382